Florida Workers’ Compensation Law: Most Common and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for Employees Injured at Work, Regarding Florida Workers Compensation Claims and Benefits

Worker Compensation FormUnfortunately, workplace accidents happen on the job every day down in Miami and throughout the rest of South Florida, for which employees are injured and require medical care to get them back to health.  When this occurs, Florida has a no fault system to protect an injured workers rights — the system provides the ability for an employee that sustains a work-related injury to recover money and remuneration in order to pay their medical bills and lost wages.  What is this system or workers’ rights called — this is Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law under Chapter 440 of the Florida Statutes.

To check and see if your employer has workers compensation insurance, you can access the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation’s Proof of Coverage Database at https://apps8.fldfs.com/proofofcoverage/Search.aspx.

If you are injured on the job as a result of a Miami work accident, and you are unsure how to proceed, you may wish to retain a Florida workers compensation lawyer to assist you in your claim.  For more information on Florida workers compensation insurance and third party liability claims arising out of a Florida workplace accident injury, see my prior article on Florida Workplace Accident Law and On The Job Injuries.  The following are some of the most common and frequently asked questions regarding Florida workers compensation law and Miami Florida workers compensation claims, for Florida employees hurt at work due to work-related accidents:

Does Florida workers compensation law allow me to sue my employer for pain and suffering damages arising out of my Florida work accident injury?

In general, no, your employer has immunity from suit under Chapter 440 of the Florida Statutes, provided they have workers compensation insurance to provide you benefits in case of an on the job injury.  There are some exceptions to this general rule, and they are discussed in my prior article on Florida Workplace Accident Law and On The Job Injuries.

Under Florida workers compensation law, what workers compensation benefits are generally provided for my Florida workplace injury?

In general, Florida’s workers compensation law provides the injured employee with benefits to cover a portion of their lost wages, as well as their medical bills and treatment, and if a worker is killed on the job in a Florida workplace accident, the worker’s estate or family members can recover death benefits and funeral expenses.  However, benefits for an injured employee’s pain and suffering are not provided for under Florida law.

How long after a Florida work-related accident do I have to report it to my employer?

30 days – Pursuant to Florida statute 440.185(1)  – Notice of injury or death – An employee who suffers an injury arising out of and in the course of employment shall advise his or her employer of the injury within 30 days after the date of or initial manifestation of the injury. Failure to so advise the employer shall bar a petition under this chapter unless:

(a) The employer or the employer’s agent had actual knowledge of the injury;

(b) The cause of the injury could not be identified without a medical opinion and the employee advised the employer within 30 days after obtaining a medical opinion indicating that the injury arose out of and in the course of employment;

(c) The employer did not put its employees on notice of the requirements of this section by posting notice pursuant to s. 440.055; or

(d) Exceptional circumstances, outside the scope of paragraph (a) or paragraph (b) justify such failure.

When should my employer report the workplace injury to their insurance company?

Within 7 days – Pursuant to Florida Statute 440.185(2), your employer shall report such injury or death to its carrier within 7 days after actual knowledge of your injury or death, and shall provide a copy of such report to the employee or the employee’s estate.  Normally, the first step is after initial notice of the work injury, the employee will be asked to assist in filling out a First Report of Injury or Illness, which basically sets forth a description of the Florida work accident, it will include the employer and employee’s information, it will identify the workers compensation insurance carrier, it will specify the first date of employment and the last day worked, it will specify the work accident injury incurred and the part of the body affected, and it will specify the wage scheme of how you are paid (ie., bi-weekly, etc.) and whether you your employer will be paying your wages instead of you receiving Florida workers comp benefits (since the incident occurred).

Under Florida workers compensation law, is my employer’s insurance carrier required to provide me information on Florida workers compensation law after being notified of my work -related injury?

Yes. Pursuant to Florida Statute 440.185(4), the carrier shall mail to the injured worker within 3 days after the employer or the employee informs the carrier of an injury an informational brochure approved by the department which sets forth in clear and understandable language an explanation of the rights, benefits, procedures for obtaining benefits and assistance, criminal penalties, and obligations of injured workers and their employers under the Florida Workers’ Compensation Law.

My employer will not report my Florida work accident injury to the insurance company. What can I do?

An employee who sustains a workplace injury has the right to report the injury to their insurance company. Moreover, pursuant to Florida Statute 440.185(11), upon receiving notice of an injury from an employee under subsection (1), the employer or carrier shall provide the employee with a written notice, in the form and manner determined by the department by rule, of the availability of services from the Employee Assistance and Ombudsman Office. The substance of the notice to the employee shall include:

(a) A description of the scope of services provided by the office.

(b) A listing of the toll-free telephone number of, the e-mail address, and the postal address of the office.

(c) A statement that the informational brochure referred to in subsection (4) will be mailed to the employee within 3 days after the carrier receives notice of the injury.

(d) Any other information regarding access to assistance that the department finds is immediately necessary for an injured employee.

Under Florida workers compensation law, am I entitled to Florida workers compensation benefits if injured on the job as a police officer, firefighter, emergency medical technician, or paramedic?

Yes. According to Florida Statute 440.091, if you are a law enforcement office, firefighter, emergency medical personnel or paramedic and sustain a work injury while in the course and scope of employment, you should be entitled to workers compensation benefits from your civic employer.  This may include when you are injured when driving to and from work, if injured while at lunch, etc.

Am I entitled to workers compensation benefits under Florida law if I am injured in a car accident, truck accident, moped accident, scooter accident, motorcycle accident or other type of motor vehicle accident, while I’m on the job and working in the course and scope of my employment?

Yes. Employees generally are covered under Florida’s Workers Compensation Act when they are injured in the course and scope of their employment, including employees who are required to travel as part of their job.  This could include air conditioning contractors, electrical contractors, construction site personnel, plumbers, engineers, pizza delivery contractors, paper delivery contractors, food and product delivery personnel, and really any other worker or employee who is required to travel in connection with his/her employment, and who suffers an injury while driving during the course of performing their work.

What kind of medical treatment am I entitled to after a Florida workplace accident?

According to Florida Statute 440.13(2), you are entitled to such medically necessary remedial treatment, care, and attendance (of any authorized provider), including medicines, medical supplies, durable medical equipment, orthoses, prostheses, and other medically necessary apparatus. You are also entitled to work-hardening programs or pain-management programs when such care is given based on a referral by a physician.  It should be noted that medically necessary treatment, care, and attendance does not include chiropractic services in excess of 24 treatments or rendered 12 weeks beyond the date of the initial chiropractic treatment, whichever comes first, unless the carrier authorizes additional treatment or the employee is catastrophically injured.

Can I recover Florida workers compensation benefits for a mental or nervous Injury due to my work-related accident?

Yes.  Under Florida Statute 440.093 – Mental and Nervous Injuries, if you have a physical injury that requires medical treatment, and the injury is accompanied by a mental or nervous injury due to stress, fright, or excitement, so long as the mental nervous injury is linked to the compensable physical trauma by a licensed psychiatrist. The compensable physical injury must be and remain the major contributing cause of the mental or nervous condition and the compensable physical injury as determined by reasonable medical certainty must be at least 50 percent responsible for the mental or nervous condition as compared to all other contributing causes combined. Compensation is not payable for the mental, psychological, or emotional injury arising out of depression from being out of work or losing employment opportunities, resulting from a preexisting mental, psychological, or emotional condition or due to pain or other subjective complaints that cannot be substantiated by objective, relevant medical findings.

It should be noted that a physical injury resulting from mental or nervous injuries unaccompanied by physical trauma requiring medical treatment shall not be compensable under this chapter.

What happens if my employer refuses to pay for my initial medical care and treatment arising out of my work-related injury?

According to Florida Statute 440.13(2)(c), if the employer fails to provide initial treatment or care after a request by the injured employee, the employee may obtain such initial treatment at the expense of the employer, if the initial treatment or care is compensable and medically necessary and is in accordance with established practice parameters and protocols of treatment as provided for in this chapter. There must be a specific request for the initial treatment or care, and the employer or carrier must be given a reasonable time period within which to provide the initial treatment or care. However, the employee is not entitled to recover any amount personally expended for the initial treatment or care unless he or she has requested the employer to furnish that initial treatment or service and the employer has failed, refused, or neglected to do so within a reasonable time or unless the nature of the injury requires such initial treatment, nursing, and services and the employer or his or her superintendent or foreman, having knowledge of the injury, has neglected to provide the initial treatment or care.

Under Florida workers compensation law, do I have to pay any of my medical bills due to me being hurt at work?

No.  According to Florida Statute 440.13(3)(g) and section (13), all authorized medical bills are to be submitted by the medical provider to your employer’s insurance company for payment, and in general, the injured employee is not liable for payment for medical treatment or services provided.

Will I be paid if I lose time from work due to my work-related injury?

Possibly.  According to Florida Statute 440.12(1), you can not recover lost wages for the first seven days of your employment related disability, although if you lose time from work because your disability extends to over 21 days, you are entitled to lost wages from the date your work related injury or disability started (which would include the first 7 days).

How much will I be paid in lost wages if I lose time from work due to a Florida work accident and have a permanent total disability?

According to Florida Statute 440.15(1), you are to be paid 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wages (under section 440.14, average weekly wages is essentially what you make from all employment during any given week in the thirteen weeks before the work accident occurred) during the continuance of such total disability. However, it should be noted that no compensation will be payable  if the employee is engaged in, or is physically capable of engaging in, at least sedentary employment.

It should also be noted that according to Florida Statute 440.15(1)(b), the following injuries are considered to be a permanent total disability arising out of a work accident (this is not applicable if you are physically capable of engaging in at least sedentary employment within a 50-mile radius of your residence):

1. Spinal cord injury involving severe paralysis of an arm, a leg, or the trunk;

2. Amputation of an arm, a hand, a foot, or a leg involving the effective loss of use of that appendage;

3. Severe brain or closed-head injury as evidenced by:

a. Severe sensory or motor disturbances;

b. Severe communication disturbances;

c. Severe complex integrated disturbances of cerebral function;

d. Severe episodic neurological disorders; or

e. Other severe brain and closed-head injury conditions at least as severe in nature as any condition provided in sub-subparagraphs a.-d.;

4. Second-degree or third-degree burns of 25 percent or more of the total body surface or third-degree burns of 5 percent or more to the face and hands; or

5. Total or industrial blindness.

How much will I be paid in lost wages if I lose time from work due to a Florida work accident and have a temporary total disability?

According to Florida Statute 440.15(2)(a), you are to be paid 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wages although in general this is not to exceed 104 weeks. However, an employee who has sustained the loss of an arm, leg, hand, or foot, has been rendered a paraplegic, paraparetic, quadriplegic, or quadriparetic, or has lost the sight of both eyes is to be paid temporary total disability benefits of 80 percent of her or his average weekly wage, these payments will generally not extend beyond 6 months from the date of the accident.  It should be noted that such benefits shall not be due or payable if the employee is eligible for, entitled to, or collecting permanent total disability benefits.

How much will I be paid in lost wages if I lose time from work due to a Florida work accident and have a temporary partial disability?

According to Florida Statute 440.15(4)(a), you are to be paid 80 percent of the difference between 80 percent of your average weekly wage and the salary, wages, and other remuneration you are able to earn post-injury although these weekly temporary partial disability benefits may not exceed an amount equal to 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wage at the time of accident.  Of note, according to 440.15(e), these benefits are to be paid during the continuance of your disability although they are not to exceed a period of 104 weeks.  Moreover, once you reach the maximum number of weeks, temporary disability benefits cease and your permanent impairment must be determined.

How much will I be paid in lost wages if I lose time from work due to a Florida work accident and have a permanent impairment?

According to Florida Statute 440.15(3)(a), once you have reached the date of maximum medical improvement, impairment benefits are due and payable within 14 days after the carrier has knowledge of the impairment.  Moreover, according to 440.15(3)(c), you are paid biweekly at the rate of 75 percent of your average weekly temporary total disability benefit, although such benefits shall be reduced by 50 percent for each week in which you have earned income equal to or in excess of your average weekly wage.

Under Florida workers compensation law, how much time does my employer’s insurance carrier have to pay me my benefits for total disability or death arising out of a Florida workplace injury?

In general, 14 days after the employer receives notice of the injury or death. According to Florida Statute 440.20(2)(a), the carrier must pay the first installment of compensation for total disability or death benefits or deny compensability no later than the 14th calendar day after the employer receives notification of the injury or death, when disability is immediate and continuous for 8 calendar days or more after the injury. If the first 7 days after disability are nonconsecutive or delayed, the first installment of compensation is due on the 6th day after the first 8 calendar days of disability.  In fact, under subsection (6)(a), if any installment of compensation for death or dependency benefits, or compensation for disability benefits payable without an award is not paid within 7 days after it becomes due, a penalty is to be added of an amount equal to 20 percent of the unpaid installment.

Can I get disability or death benefits arising out of an occupational disease caused by my work?

Yes.  According to Florida Statute 440.151(1)(a), the disablement or death of an employee resulting from an occupational disease shall be treated as the happening of an injury by accident, and to which the employee or, in case of death, the employee’s dependents, shall be entitled to compensation under Chapter 440.  In fact,  under 440.151(c), even if an occupational disease is aggravated by any other disease or infirmity which is not itself compensable, or where disability or death from any other cause that is not itself compensable is aggravated, prolonged, accelerated or in anywise contributed to by an occupational disease, you are entitled to compensation only if the occupational disease is the major contributing cause of the injury.

Under Florida workers compensation law, how much can my estate or family members get in death benefits for an employee being killed in an on the job Florida workplace accident?

According to Florida Statute 440.16, your estate and/or family member can receive up to $150,000 in death benefits, along with up to $7,500 in funeral expenses.

Can I get disability or death benefits due to a subsequent accident or injury or an aggravation of a prior injury?

Yes. According to Florida Statute 440.15(5)(a),  the fact that you have suffered a previous disability, impairment, anomaly, or disease, or received workers compensation as a result of same, this does not prevent you as an employee injured on the job from getting workers compensation benefits for a subsequent aggravation or acceleration of the pre-existing condition or preclude benefits for death resulting therefrom.  However, no benefits are payable if you at the time of entering into your employment, falsely represent in writing as not having previously been disabled or compensated because of such previous disability, impairment, anomaly, or disease and your employer detrimentally relies on this misrepresentation.

Can I still get disability benefits for a temporary partial disability if I leave my previous employer and get a new job?

Yes. According to Florida Statute 440.15(7), if you are injured on the job and receive compensation for temporary partial disability, if you leave the employment of the employer by whom you were employed at the time of your accident for which such compensation is being paid, you can still get benefits for you prior accident provided you provide your old employer an affidavit in writing containing the name of your new employer, the place of employment, and the amount of wages being received at such new employment — until you give such an affidavit, your compensation for temporary partial disability will cease.

When will I get my first check after my Florida work-related injury?

As stated above, according to Florida Statute 440.20, an injured worker should receive their  first benefits check within 21 days after the injury is reported to the employer.

If I am only temporarily disabled, how long can I receive my benefit checks for?

As stated above, according to Florida Statute 440.15(2) and 440.15(4), you can receive temporary total or temporary partial disability payments during your disability for no more than a maximum of 104 weeks.

Under Florida workers compensation law, can I receive social security benefits and Florida workers’ compensation benefits at the same time?

Yes. According to Florida Statute 440.15(9), you can receive both sets of benefits at the same time although you cannot receive combined benefits that exceeds 80 percent of your average weekly wage.

Under Florida workers compensation law, can I receive Florida unemployment compensation benefits and Florida workers’ compensation total disability benefits at the same time?

No. According to Florida Statute 440.15(10)(a), no workers compensation benefits shall be payable for temporary total disability or permanent total disability while you are injured and your are receiving reemployment assistance or unemployment compensation benefits.

Can I receive Florida unemployment compensation and Florida workers’ compensation temporary partial disability benefits at the same time?

Yes.  According to Florida Statute 440.15(10)(b), if you are entitled to temporary partial benefits and reemployment assistance or unemployment compensation benefits, such reemployment assistance or unemployment compensation benefits shall be primary and the temporary partial benefits shall be supplemental only — the sum of the two benefits are not to exceed the amount of temporary partial benefits which would otherwise be payable.

What can I do if I am not receiving my benefit check after my work-related injury?

If you are an employee injured in a workplace accident on the job, and you are not receiving your benefit check, you can simply call your employer or your employer’s insurance carrier.

For the time period that I am receiving disability benefits and am unable to return to work , does my employer have to hold my job for me?

No, your employer is not required to hold your job position while you are receiving workers compensation benefits.  Moreover, Florida is an at-will employee job state which means that your employer can let you at any time whether it is for cause or not.

Can my employer fire me simply because I am unable to return to work because of an on the job injury and am receiving workers’ compensation benefits?

No.  According to Florida Statute 440.205, no employer shall discharge, threaten to discharge, intimidate, or coerce any employee by reason of such employee’s valid claim for compensation or attempt to claim compensation under Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law.

If I am having difficulty getting a prescription filled or I am having problems with the pharmacy where I get my workers’ compensation medication, what can I do?

According to Florida Statute 440.13(3)(j), an employee injured on the job in Florida has the right to select a pharmacy or pharmacist — Florida law expressly forbids the department, an employer, a carrier, or any agent or representative of the department, employer, or a carrier, from selecting a pharmacy or pharmacist which the sick or injured employee must use.  Thus, if you have problems with your chosen pharmacy, you can simply choose another pharmacy to fill your prescriptions.

My employer and the insurance company have denied my claim for workers’ compensation benefits. Do I need legal representation (ie., a Florida workers compensation denied claim attorney or lawyer) to get my disability or death benefits?

If you are hurt or work, sustain an on the job injury, sustain a workplace  injury or disease or are killed at work, and your claim for Florida workers compensation disability or death benefits is denied, delayed or underpaid, you can inquire with a Florida workers compensation attorney or lawyer to assist you in your process.

What is the time limit (ie., the statute of limitations for Florida workers compensation claims before a Judge of Compensation Claims) for filing a Petition for Benefits?

In general, the statute of limitations for Florida workers compensation lawsuits is two (2) years from the date of injury.  According to Florida Statute 440.19(1), all employees petition for benefits is barred unless the employee, or the employee’s estate if the employee is deceased, has advised the employer of the injury or death pursuant to 440.185(1) — ie., within thirty days of the injury, and the petition is filed within 2 years after the date on which the employee knew or should have known that the injury or death arose out of work performed in the course and scope of employment.  Of note, if the injury claimed is an occupational disease (such as black lung, asbestosis, mesothelioma, etc.), the Florida statute of limitations for these types of Florida work injury claims begins to run from the date of disability and not the date on which the accident or the contraction of the disease took place.

If I get Florida workers compensation benefits, are creditors able to take a portion of my checks to pay my debts?

No.  According to Florida Statute 440.22, your Florida workers compensation disability or death benefits received under Chapter 440, are exempt from all claims of creditors, and from levy, execution and attachments or other remedy for recovery or collection of a debt, which exemption may not be waived. However, the exemption of workers’ compensation claims from creditors does not extend to claims based on an award of child support or alimony.

If I lose my claim for Florida workers compensation benefits, can I appeal an Order entered by a Judge of Compensation Claims?

Yes.  According to Florida Statute 440.271, any review of an order by a judge of compensation claims is to be by appeal to the District Court of Appeal, First District. Appeals shall be filed in accordance with rules of procedure prescribed by the Supreme Court for review of such orders.

Can my Miami Florida workers compensation claim lawyer recover attorney’s fees if I am forced to file a petition for benefits arising out of my workplace accident?

Yes. According to Florida Statute 440.34(1), a claimant’s attorney may recover an attorney’s fee approved by a judge of compensation claims for benefits secured on behalf of a claimant, said fee which must be equal to 20 percent of the first $5,000 of the amount of the benefits secured, 15 percent of the next $5,000 of the amount of the benefits secured, 10 percent of the remaining amount of the benefits secured to be provided during the first 10 years after the date the claim is filed, and 5 percent of the benefits secured after 10 years. Of note, a retainer agreement between an injured employee and their Florida workers compensation claim attorney, as to fees and costs, may not be for compensation in excess of the amount allowed under this section.

Under Florida workers compensation law, can I get a lump sum settlement from my Florida workers compensation claim, arising out of my work-related accident or work-related injury?

Yes. If an injured worker due to a Florida work accident hires a Miami Florida workers compensation claim lawyer and they file a workers compensation claim (ie., a petition for benefits), lump sum settlements may be entered into with their employer whether the claimant is represented by counsel or not.  According to Florida Statute 440.20(11)(a) and (b), when a claimant is not represented by counsel, a lump-sum payment can be made in exchange for the employer’s or carrier’s release from liability for future medical expenses, as well as future payments of compensation expenses and any other benefits provided under this chapter.  In this situation, the employer or carrier may not pay any attorney’s fees on behalf of the claimant for any settlement unless expressly authorized elsewhere in chapter 440.  According to Florida Statute 440.20(11)(c), where the employee is represented by a Florida workers compensation claim lawyer, the claimant may waive all rights to any and all benefits under this chapter by entering into a settlement agreement releasing the employer and the carrier from liability for workers’ compensation benefits in exchange for a lump-sum payment to the claimant. The settlement agreement requires approval by the judge of compensation claims only as to the attorney’s fees paid to the claimant’s attorney by the claimant.

If I settle my Florida workers compensation claim for medical benefits with my employer’s insurance company and my work injury condition gets worse after my settlement, who pays for my future medical care or surgeries?

Once you settle your claim, you release your employer and their workers compensation insurance carrier from any further liability or responsibility due to your workplace injury.  As such, in this instance, you would be responsible for all future medical care and needs once you settle your claim for medical benefits.

Can I get Florida workers compensation benefits to cover me for my pain and suffering related to my Florida work accident injury?

No. Florida’s workers compensation law only provides the injured worker with benefits to cover lost wages and medical bills from an authorized medical provider. For an explanation of how an injured worker can recover pain and suffering damages arising out of their Florida work accident, see my prior article on Florida Workplace Accident Law and On The Job Injuries.

Should I use my health insurance to cover my medical bills related to my on the job injury?

No. In general, Florida’s worker compensation benefits provide for the covering of an injured employee’s medical care by an authorized medical provider.  Thus, if you choose to go to your own doctors, and these doctors are not authorized by your employers workers compensation carrier, you will likely be responsible for paying those medical  bills.

In Florida, workers, contractors and employees are injured on the job on a daily basis as a result of workplace accidents and injuries on the job. Some of Florida’s most prominent employers where work-related accidents can happen include the following places:

  • Supermarkets: Publix, Albertsons, Winn-Dixie, Sedanos Supermarket, Food Lion, Presidente, Whole Foods, Save A Lot, Stop & Shop, Fresh Market, Sweetbay Supermarket, and Walmart Supercenter.
  • Shopping and strip malls: Florida Mall, Dadeland Mall, Broward Mall, Boynton Beach Mall, Sawgrass Mills, Bayside Market Place, The Falls, Las Olas Shops, Dolphin Mall, Mall of the Americas, Aventura Mall, Mall at Millenia, Downtown Disney Marketplace and Shops, The Shops at Sunset Place, Orlando Premium Outlets, Southland Mall, Merrick Park, Festival Bay Mall and Factory Outlet Malls.
  • Restaurants: Applebee’s, Mcdonald’s, Subway, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Chilli’s, Red Robin, Burger King, Wendy’s, Buffalo Wild Wings, Arby’s, Taco Bell, Chipotle, Domino’s Pizza, Pizza Hut, Papa John’s, Krispy Kreme, Cracker Barrel, Outback Steakhouse, Panera Bread, Starbucks and Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC).
  • Pharmacies: CVS, Walgreens and others.
  • Electronic retail stores: Brandsmart, Best Buy, HH Greg, Tiger Direct, Sears, Rent A Center, AT & T Retail Outlets, Verizon Wireless Retail Outlets and RadioShack.
  • Hardware stores: Home Depot, Lowe’s and Ace Hardware.
  • Convenience Stores: Super K, Farm Stores and 7-Eleven.
  • Gas Stations: Chevron, Citgo, Shell, Exxon-Mobil, British Petroleum, Valero, U-Gas, Sunoco, Texaco, Hess, Raceway and Marathon.
  • Big box stores: Walmart Supercenter’s, Target, Kmart and Big Lots.
  • Wholesale stores: BJ’s Wholesale Club, Costco and Sams.
  • Amusement and theme parks: Walt Disney World, Epcot, Disney’s Magic Kingdom, Disney’s Animal Kingdom, Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Legoland, Disney’s Blizzard Beach, Disney’s Typhoon Lagoon, Wet and Wild, Busch Gardens, Downtown Disney, Disney Quest and Sea World.
  • Discount retail stores: Marshalls, TJ Maxx, Ross Dress For Less, Dollar General, Family Dollar, Discount Dollar and Dollar Tree.
  • Department Stores: Sears, Macy’s, Bloomingdales, Bealls, Saks Fifth Avenue, Dillards, Kohl’s, JC Penney, Belk, Nordstrom and Neiman Marcus.
  • Hotels and Motels: Hilton, Marriott, Best Western, Hampton Inn and Suites, Red Roof Inn, Ritz Carlton, Radisson, Fairfield Inn and Suites, Springhill Suites, Disney Resort’s, Sheraton, Hardrock Hotel, Renaissance Hotels, Westin, W Hotel, La Quinta Inn & Suites, Loews Hotels, Motel 6, Super 8 Motels, Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza, Embassy Suites, Wyndham Hotels, Comfort Suites, Courtyard Marriott and Doubletree Suites.

Moral of the Story: if you are a Florida employee who is injured on the job at your workplace or somewhere else while in the course and scope of your employment, whether the work-related accident happens in Palmetto Bay, Daytona, Orlando, Tampa, Fort Myers, Naples, Jacksonville, Stuart, Jupiter, Hollywood, Pensacola, Ocala, Cape Coral, Saint Augustine, Aventura, Miami Beach, Hialeah, Gainsville, Palm Coast, Port St Lucie, Port Orange, West Kendall, Homestead, the Florida Keys, Cutler Ridge, or another area within Miami, Fort Lauderdale or Palm Beach, or anywhere in Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach or Monroe Counties, know that workers injured due to work-related accidents have many options available under Florida workers compensation law that may require the retention of a Miami Florida workers compensation lawyer or a Florida work-related accident injury lawyer, given the many complexities involved when an employee is hurt at work and suffers an on the job injury or occupational disease.

Speak Your Mind

*